Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder

finished lamb

I thought i might post some of my own recipes as well as my family recipes. Slow Cooked Lamb is my signature dish. I make it for my friends and family all the time. When you cook it like this it falls right off the bone.  I first started making it at work for my team. Everyone thought i was a little crazy walking into work with my slow cooker full of Lamb…now i have the whole mobile set up. My slow cooker for Roast Lamb, my convection oven to roast potatoes and my steamer for veggies. I love seeing the look on people’s faces when they see and taste it for the first time…although most people still think I’m a little nuts!

Ingredients

Lamb Shoulder -2kgs will feed 6-8 people

2 Heads of Garlic

Large Bunch of Rosemary

1 Onion

Salt & Pepper

Step 1

  • Preheat Slow cooker on high.
  • Peel garlic cloves.  
  • Take 5 cloves and slice them.
  • Squash remaining cloves with the back of a knife.
  • With a small, sharp knife make some incisions in the fleshiest parts of the lamb.
  • Stuff a slice of garlic down the incision followed by a small sprig or rosemary.

Lamb beginning

Step 2

  • Sear Lamb in a hot pan.
  • Place a layer of Rosemary sprigs on the bottom of the slow cooker.
  • Once the Lamb is seared on each side lay it on the bed of rosemary.
  • Turn fry pan to a medium heat. Add onion and garlic to the same fry pan. Saute until the onions brown and soften.
  • Place remaining rosemary, onion and garlic over the lamb.
  • Pour in any remaining juice from the fry pan. Season generously.

Lamb start

Step 3

  • You will just need to check and turn the meat sporadically.
  • First check the roast after about 3 hours. You will notice that there will be a few millimeters of juice in the bottom of the slow cooker.
  • Check every 2-3 hours after the first time.
  • Once there is a substantial amount of juice in the slow cooker, rotate the meat so that it is as immersed as possible in the juice.
  • It will be ready to eat from about 7 hours. You can leave it up to 12 hours.
  • I take mine out when you gently lift the bone with tongs and it just comes straight out. Patients really does pay off with this dish.

7 hours in Middle lamb

Yum!

finished lamb


Note: If i am going to serve this for lunch i will put it in before i go to bed around midnight and then I do the first check at about 6am. 

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder

  1. brent April 14, 2013 at 11:35 am Reply

    as someone who has had the pleasure of eating this lamb on a few occasions i can highly recommend it! Lis, you are a great chef and yes, you are a little crazy carrying around your mobile kitchen.

    • Lisa Parnis April 14, 2013 at 11:38 am Reply

      Thanks mate…I still get a kick out of your happy face demolishing a plate of it!

Leave a Reply

